LSAT India 2024 Syllabus: Section Wise Syllabus and Marks Distribution

Best CLAT Coaching In Gurgaon

The Law School Admission Test (LSAT) in India is a standardized entrance exam conducted for admission to various law schools and colleges in India. It is a golden gate for some of the premier law colleges of India like O.P Zindal.

LSAT India: Syllabus and Overview

What is LSAT India

LSAT is designed to assess a candidate’s critical thinking, logical reasoning, analytical reasoning, and reading comprehension skills. To excel in the LSAT India, it is essential to have a thorough understanding of its syllabus and mark distribution. In this blog, we will delve into the section-wise breakdown of the LSAT India syllabus and the corresponding marks distribution.

LSAT India Syllabus

The LSAT—India question paper will be divided into four sections, each section carrying comprehension-based questions. The section-wise distribution of questions is given below.

LSAT: India Syllabus 2023: Section Wise Marks Distribution


How is the LSAT India syllabus structured? 

The mode of the exam will be online and the medium of the exam will be English. The duration of the exam is 2 hours 20 minutes (35 minutes for each section viz: AR, LR(1), LR( 2), AND RC. The total number of questions will be 92 and all questions will be multiple choice questions. There will be no negative marking. A score band between 420 and 480 and a percentile rank would be used to evaluate candidates.


There are a total of four sections in LSAT-India which are reading comprehension, analytical reasoning, and two sections of logical reasoning.


What is Analytical Reasoning?

The Analytical Reasoning section, also known as the “Logic Games” section, evaluates a candidate’s ability to understand and analyze complex relationships between objects and concepts.

How many questions are there in Analytical Reasoning?

The Analytical Reasoning consists of 23 Questions. This section usually contains four sets of questions, with five to seven questions per set. It consists of a series of logical puzzles or scenarios, which require candidates to identify relationships, make deductions, and draw conclusions. Questions will be based on arrangements, comparisons, selections, family-based problems, Intersection type questions, Logical deductions, directions, coding & decoding. Candidates must read and understand a brief excerpt for each logical reasoning topic before answering the questions. It assesses the individual’s deductive reasoning, problem-solving, and logical thinking skills. The section typically consists of sets of questions that require the candidate to make deductions and draw conclusions based on given conditions. These relationships may be based on people, places, objects, or events.

Weightage assigned to Analytical Reasoning.

Marks Distribution: The Analytical Reasoning section typically carries approximately 23 marks, accounting for 24-26% of the total marks.

Logical Reasoning

What is Logical Reasoning?

There are two sections in Logical reasoning:

  • The questions from this section will be in the form of short passages extracted from newspapers, magazines, editorials, and scholarly publications.
  • These questions will also include complex arguments based on hypothetical facts some of these passages may relate to the actual subject of law. Each logical reasoning question requires you to read and comprehend a short passage, and then answer the questions related to it.

Number of questions

The LSAT India typically includes two sections of Logical Reasoning, with 24 questions in each section. It evaluates the individual’s capacity to understand and apply principles of logic, identify flaws in arguments, and draw appropriate conclusions. This section includes a series of short passages, followed by questions that test the candidate’s reasoning abilities.

Weightage of Logical Reasoning Section

Marks Distribution: The Logical Reasoning section usually carries around 48 marks, representing 48-50% of the total marks.

Reading Comprehension

What is Reading Comprehension?

The Reading Comprehension section measures the candidate’s ability to read and comprehend complex passages accurately. It assesses the individual’s understanding of the structure of arguments, the main ideas presented in the passages, and the ability to draw inferences and make logical connections. The questions may ask about the following characteristics of a passage or pair of passages: The main idea or primary purpose of the passage. Information or ideas that can be inferred from the passage.

No. of Questions

This section usually consists of four sets of questions, with five to seven questions per set. It has a total of 24 questions.


Marks Distribution: The Reading Comprehension section typically carries approximately 48 marks, accounting for 48-50% of the total marks.

Variable Section (Experimental) – Not Scored

The LSAT India may include an additional variable section that is not scored. This section is used to test new questions and assess their difficulty level for future exams. It may appear in any order after the first three sections and can include questions from any of the above-mentioned sections.


Understanding the LSAT India syllabus and marks distribution is crucial for effective preparation. By familiarizing themselves with the section-wise breakdown and allocating appropriate study time to each section, candidates can develop targeted preparation strategies to enhance their performance in the Analytical Reasoning, Logical Reasoning, and Reading Comprehension sections. Good luck with your LSAT India preparation!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *